Finalists Announced for 2023 JETS Richard Davis Awards

Share Article

Written by: JETS News | Posted 03 November 2023 11:06

The finalists for this year’s JETS Richard Davis Awards have been announced today. The winners of these annual career development Awards will be revealed and presented with their trophies at Warwick Racecourse on Tuesday 7th November.

Former Jump Jockey Tom Scudamore will host the Awards presentation prior to racing with the winners in three Award categories being announced in front of invited representatives from across the industry before being presented with their trophies in the parade ring ahead of the JETS Richard Davis Awards Handicap Chase at 3.05pm.

The Awards, first held in 1997, offer £7000 in prizemoney and celebrate the achievements of both current and former jockeys, with this year’s finalists showcasing the number of different industries jockeys can enjoy careers in beyond the saddle.

The finalists in the three categories are as follows:

BHA Development Award - VIEW PROFILES
Harry Kimber – Conditional Jockey
Charlie Maggs – Conditional Jockey
Olivia Tubb – Apprentice Jockey

IJF Progress Award - VIEW PROFILES
Thomas Brown – Emergency Care Assistant
Jason Dixon – Equine Dentist
Ryan Hatch – Equine Training Instructor and Assessor

The Jockey Club Achievement Award - VIEW PROFILES
Stacy Bone – HR Business Partner
Dickie Hawkins – Accounts Manager
David Parkes – Customs Broker

Tom Scudamore, who has carried out various training courses with the support of JETS, said:

“I’m delighted to be hosting the 2023 JETS Richard Davis Awards. It is vital that jockeys make the most of every opportunity that come their way, and JETS is there to help them do this. Being a jockey is a wonderful way of life but as for all sportspeople, there will be a life after sport and you have to prepare for it throughout your career. JETS provided that support for me and I am forever grateful for that now I am in the ‘real world’

"Once again we have a fantastic group of finalists who have all shown great initiative by taking all of their qualities as riders, and transferring their talents into something else. It is a privilege to be chosen to honour their achievements in this way.”

JETS Manager, Lisa Delany, said:

“We are delighted to be holding the Awards at Warwick Racecourses for the first time and we are grateful to the racecourse team, the Davis family and our Award sponsors for supporting these important industry Awards. This year’s finalists demonstrate the wide range of equine and non-equine second careers jockeys go on to enjoy and we’re looking forward to celebrating their achievements together.”

The three Richard Davis Award categories are:

The Jockey Club Achievement Award, worth £3,000 to the winner, is designed for those jockeys who have significantly achieved in pursuing their new chosen careers. Two runners-up receive £500 each.

The IJF Progress Award, worth £2,000 to the winner, rewards the early progress of those jockeys who have more recently started out on a new career/training path.

The BHA Development Award, worth £1,000 to the winner, was introduced in 2017 for currently licensed jockeys who have shown real commitment to their CPD (Continued Personal Development) whilst riding or during injury time out in order to enhance their development as a jockey or to assist with their dual career development.

Share Article