Finalists Announced for 25th Richard Davis Awards

Share Article

Written by: JETS News | Posted 07 November 2022 10:41

The finalists for this year’s JETS Richard Davis Awards have been announced today. The winners of these annual career development Awards, which are now in their 25th year, will be revealed on Racing TV on Wednesday 9th November.

The Awards were first staged in 1997 and are named in memory of Jump Jockey Richard Davis, who had already begun career planning before he suffered a fatal fall in 1996.

The Awards, which offer £7000 in prizemoney, celebrate the achievements of both current and former jockeys, with this year’s finalists showcasing the number of different industries jockeys can enjoy careers in beyond the saddle.

The Awards will again be hosted on Racing TV in a show presented from 5.30pm by former Richard Davis Award winner Niall Hannity and his guest, former jockey George Baker. The programme will feature films and interviews with the Award winners.

The finalists in the three categories are as follows:

BHA Development Award

Hugh Nugent – Jump Jockey
Alexander Thorne – Jump Jockey
Thomas Wilmott – Conditional Jockey

IJF Progress Award

Megan Carberry – Sports & Exercise Therapy
Sam Welton – Civil & Structural Engineering
Ryan Withey – Equine Dentistry

The Jockey Club Achievement Award

Jake Hodson – Gardening Maintenance & Tree Surgery
Emma Sayer – Training & Development Manager, Scottish Racing Academy
Jordan Vaughan - Farrier


JETS Manager, Lisa Delany, said:

“We are delighted to be celebrating the 25th anniversary of the Richard Davis Awards. They have progressed so much since they were first established in 1997. We are so grateful to Richard’s family and our sponsors for their continued support. Over the years, we’ve seen the Awards grow in profile and achieve their objective of encouraging jockeys to recognise the importance of planning for the future whilst still riding.”

Ian Kevan, Channel Editor, at Racing TV, said:

“We are delighted to support JETS in hosting these prestigious Awards once again. They showcase the wide range of industry sectors in which jockeys can enjoy a second career and the fantastic support provided by JETS in offering training, funding, careers advice and support through a number of different services.”

The three Richard Davis Award categories are:

The Jockey Club Achievement Award, worth £3,000 to the winner and is designed for those jockeys who have significantly achieved in pursuing their new chosen careers. Two runners-up receive £500 each.

The IJF Progress Award, worth £2,000 to the winner, rewards the early progress of those jockeys who have more recently started out on a new career/training path.

The BHA Development Award, worth £1,000 to the winner, was introduced in 2017 for currently licensed jockeys who have shown real commitment to their CPD (Continued Personal Development) whilst riding or during injury time out in order to enhance their development as a jockey or to assist with their dual career development.


Share Article