Finalists Announced for 2021 Richard Davis Awards

Share Article

Written by: JETS News | Posted 08 November 2021 9:39

The finalists for this year’s JETS Richard Davis Awards have been announced today. The winners of these annual career development Awards will be revealed on Racing TV on Thursday 11th November.

The Awards, which offer £7000 in prizemoney, celebrate the achievements of both current and former jockeys, with this year’s finalists showcasing the breadth of careers jockeys enjoy beyond the saddle.

Following their first televised broadcast in 2020, the Awards will again be hosted on Racing TV in a show presented from 5pm by former Richard Davis Award winner Niall Hannity and his guest, former jockey George Baker. The programme will feature films and interviews with the Award winners.

The finalists in the three categories are as follows:

BHA Current Jockey Award

Anna Gibson – Apprentice to Gary Moore
Charlotte Jones – Conditional to James Moffatt
Kai Lenihan – Conditional to Neil King

IJF Progress Award

Kathy Begley – Veterinary Medicine
Paul Callaghan – Sports Broadcasting
Emma Sayer – Scottish Racing Academy Tutor

The Jockey Club Achievement Award

Rodi Greene – Jockey Coach
Charlotte Mitchell – Thoroughbred Nutritionist
Eva Moscrop – Coffee Shop Owner

JETS Manager, Lisa Delany, said:

“It has been a challenging year for anyone trying to develop and succeed in their career during a pandemic but this year’s finalists have all shown immense dedication and application to follow their dreams and have shown that hard work reaps rewards, whatever their chosen field might be.

“We are very grateful for the continued support from our sponsors and also to Racing TV for presenting the Awards again this year. We are looking forward to hosting the winners at Cheltenham races on Friday and presenting them with their Awards in person.”

“JETS received a high number of training applications in 2020 and it’s great to see so many jockeys and former jockeys taking advantage of all the support and training we offer.”

Ian Kevan, Channel Editor, at Racing TV, said:

“We have been delighted to support JETS over the years, including via our media traineeships, and we look forward to hosting the Awards again on Racing TV and showcasing the work that JETS does and the career achievements made by jockeys to our audience.”

The three Richard Davis Award categories are:

The Jockey Club Achievement Award, worth £3,000 to the winner and is designed for those jockeys who have significantly achieved in pursuing their new chosen careers. Two runners-up receive £500 each.

The IJF Progress Award, worth £2,000 to the winner, rewards the early progress of those jockeys who have more recently started out on a new career/training path.

The BHA Current Jockey CPD Award, worth £1,000 to the winner, was introduced in 2017 for currently licensed jockeys who have shown real commitment to their CPD (Continued Personal Development) whilst riding or during injury time out in order to enhance their development as a jockey or to assist with their dual career development.

Find out more and read finalist profiles

Share Article