Entries open for 2023 JETS Richard Davis Awards

Share Article

Written by: JETS News | Posted 28 July 2023 14:25

Entries open for 2023 JETS Richard Davis Awards

Entries are now open for the 2023 JETS Richard Davis Awards showcasing the career development of jockeys and former jockeys.  In a change from recent years, the 2023 Awards will now take place at Warwick Racecourse on Tuesday 7th November.

The winners will be presented with their trophies as part of a special day dedicated to the Awards featuring films about the winners and the inaugural running of the JETS Richard Davis Awards Handicap Chase at Warwick.  Invited guests including sponsors, Friends of JETS and other industry stakeholders, will hear from the winners in a special discussion panel which will look at all the different ways in which jockeys are developing their careers both in and out of the saddle. 

The three Award categories are:

The Jockey Club Achievement Award - The top Award designed for those jockeys who have significantly achieved in pursuing their new chosen careers and is worth £3,000 to the winner with two runners-up prizes of £500 each.

The IJF Progress Award - Worth £2,000, this Award rewards the early progress of those jockeys who have more recently started out on a new career or training path in the previous two years.

The BHA Development Award - With a prize of £1,000, this Award is exclusively for current jockeys and video entries can be submitted either by the jockey or their jockey coach.  Guidance for how to submit a video entry can be found here.

Lisa Delany, JETS Manager, said, “Over the years we’ve seen a huge change in attitude amongst jockeys who see the importance of gaining skills and experience from the very start of their riding careers which will not only help them maximise their career potential as a jockey but also aid them in developing their second careers beyond riding.  We are supporting a record number of JETS candidates and it’s fantastic, thanks to the generous support of our sponsors, to be able to recognise the commitment and dedication being shown by current and former jockeys.

The JETS Richard Davis Awards are named in memory of the late Richard Davis who had started planning for his future before his fatal race fall in 1996.  

Full details about the Awards as well as entry forms can be found here or email Lisa (lisa@jets-uk.org) for entry forms. 



Share Article